



Green Hall, 35 Campus Avenue, Kingston, RI 02881 USA p: 401.874.2444 f: 401.874.7149 uri.edu/president

David M. Dooley, Ph.D. President

October 29, 2020

Honorable Marvin Abney Chairman, House Committee on Finance State House Room 35 Providence, RI 02903

Dear Chairman Abney and members of the House Committee on Finance:

Thank you for considering the Rhode Island Capital Plan Fund amendments proposed by Governor Raimondo and the Office of Management and Budget. We appreciate that the University's testimony highlighting concerns with potential losses in RICAP funding have been addressed in these proposed amendments. Importantly, these amendments provide \$2,455,280 for asset protection and \$2,008,672 for the Fine Arts Center. These are critically important RICAP needs at the University and we are relieved this funding has been proposed.

Given the fiscal challenges facing the State and the University we are grateful that URI's capital funding needs have been prioritized. Given the more than 300 buildings the University maintains, which represents approximately 25% of the State's capital assets, we are thankful critical capital resources are included that will help the University manage its properties during these challenging times. Although this RICAP amendment represents a fraction of the \$14M in RICAP funding the University needs (and requested) for FY 21, we are nonetheless grateful any RICAP funding was made available to offset these losses. We request that if the FY 21 budget outlook improves, and RICAP funds become available, that additional RICAP support be considered for the University to address the significant capital maintenance and repairs required to keep its 5 million square feet of facilities safe and operational.

Thank you for addressing these important needs during such a challenging time in our State's history. I wish you the very best as we approach Election Day and hope you and your families are well.

Sincerely,

Sauren Durky

David M. Dooley, Ph.D. President

c: Representative Gregg Amore, Representative Jean-Philipe Barros, Representative Grace Diaz, Representative John G. Edwards, Representative James N. McLaughlin, Representative Alex Marszalkowski, Representative Mario F. Mendez, Representative Michael Morin, Representative William O'Brien, Representative Justin Price, Representative Robert J. Quattrocchi, Representative Scott Slater, Representative Carlos Tobon, Representative Camille Vella-Wilkinson, Sharon Reynolds-Ferland, Liza Pinto, Christopher O'Brien